Crazy cat lady quilt

For about 20 or so months, my husband (Lance)  and I lived with his parents, my in-laws. Though there was the odd downside, the cheap living really came in handy when it came to paying for the wedding, and then six month later a trip to the US for my brother-in-law’s wedding and paying off my student loan really quickly. One of the other benefits was having a cat around. I’m allergic to cats, so I’ll never have one of my own, but I love having an animal around the house, cats included, even if they make me itchy and sneezy.

This is Fudge:

2013-03-11%2020.56.03

Fudge also enjoyed having me around, I became the clear favourite when my brother-in-law moved the US. He would completely ignore Lance no matter how insistently he tried to get Fudge’s attention, but would come to me any time, invited or not. One of the other things Fudge absolutely loved about me was my quilt.

2013-08-12 20.57.08

I got it out to keep me warm in our living room over winter, and Fudge very quickly grew attached to it. Sometime it was folded on the back of the couch, sometimes it would fall on the floor and other times it would be in a messy pile on the couch. No matter where it was, that was where you would usually find Fudge sleeping. He didn’t care where it was, as long as it was underneath him. If you were sitting on it or in his way, he would let you know. On the odd occasion it was too messy for him to settle down comfortably, he would let you know. The pitiful glares and stalking around would make it clear what he wanted (and, of course, I obliged).

2013-04-17 15.33.02

When we moved out, I felt bad taking the quilt away from him. But it was my first quilt, and unlike my second one, I still loved the fabrics. It was my project when I had my first break from tertiary studies in many years and decided I needed something to fill in my time. It also took many years to complete. The top was made in NZ and the quilt finished in Australia some years later.

I still had some of the fabric leftover, and some other fabric that matched, as well as enough of the batting to sew together into one largish piece. So I made the cat his own quilt!! Yes, I know, crazy, but that’s how bad I felt.

2013-12-22 11.02.48     2013-12-22 11.03.20

The whole time I was making the quilt, I kept thinking “damn cat’s probably just gonna reject this thing after all my effort, he’ll know it’s an imposter”. But, lo and beyond, on Christmas morning when he opened his gift, he seemed rather pleased with it.

2013-12-25 09.51.00                      2014-01-12 18.48.10

And he continues to use it. One day my in-laws even found it in the hallway, he’d tried to drag it from one living room to the other!

One comment

Leave a Reply

